A Fleeting Glance – Opeth

Up until recently I have been alone

Leading a tranquil life but never at home

Something had changed

And I turned to the wind

That blew through me and told me,

“How long? How long?”

Silenced the voice

of my heart now for years

I was perplexed by a fleeting blank stare

Biding my time until courage

had build up inside me

Then came clean, “Or am I wrong”

I spend all my days

contemplating my will

For the weak shall inherit

the Earth when it’s still

A government bid for my life

I was sold as a cog in a machine,

“I walk the line”

A fleeting glance again

tells me everything

Took a chance in vain,

drown to a futile idea

A pursuit of happiness

as the storm rolls in,

An idol of helplessness,

paved the way and then gave in

I met with my mother

and I asked her why

For ten years so more she would never reply

Suddenly she said

we are all born to die

Gave me purpose, freed me,

“How simple it can be”

But it’s fading away from my mind

There’s another “me” waiting behind

But it’s fading away from my mind

There’s another “me” waiting behind


Sono stato solo fino a poco tempo fa

Conducendo una vita tranquilla, ma mai a casa

Qualcosa è cambiato

E mi sono rivolto al vento

Che mi soffiava attraverso e mi diceva

“Per quanto ancora? Per quanto ancora?”

Zittita la voce

Del mio cuore, ora, da anni

Ero confuso da uno sguardo fisso fugace

Aspettando il momento giusto, affinché il coraggio

Fosse nato in me

Poi confessai, “Forse mi sbaglio”

Trascorro tutti I miei giorni

Nella contemplazione della mia volontà

Poiché il debole dovrebbe ereditare

la Terra quando è ferma

Un governo diede la mia vita in offerta

Fui venduto come l’ingranaggio di un macchinario

“Io rigo dritto”

Uno sguardo fugace ancora

mi dice tutto

Ho colto in vano l’occasione,

sommerso da un’idea futile

Una caccia alla felicità

come la tempesta infuria,

Un idolo d’impotenza,

Che ha lastricato la via e poi ci ha rinunciato

Ho incontrato mia madre

e le ho chiesto perché

Per dieci anni e ancor di più non mi ha mai risposto

All’improvviso ha detto

che tutti noi siamo nati per morire

Dammi uno scopo, dammi la libertà,

“Quanto può essere facile?”

Ma sta svanendo dalla mia mente

C’è un altro “me” che aspetta nascosto

Ma sta svanendo dalla mia mente

C’è un altro “me” che aspetta nascosto

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

